Set Them Free …

Standard

… Your knitting needles, that is. I’ve done the decent thing and finished my test knit for the fantastic Madeleine at Yarn-Madness, and freed up my needles for another project. In general, I don’t like to have multiple projects on the go, because I’d far sooner get a project finished in the shortest possible time, but I have found myself with three ongoing projects … though now I’ve finished the test knit that’s gone down to two – a jumper for Mike, which I have almost finished (just half a collar and some I-cord edging to go), and some socks for me. The socks were my holiday knitting, and I’m almost finished the first one. However, I suspect that they may be a tad too big, but I’m going to ignore that for now and put them to one side until I feel ready to deal with this possibility.

So, my lovely test knit is done and washed, and is currently drying here on the garden table while I write this, as it has turned out to be a lovely bright and sunny day today. Here’s a sneaky peek for you – the pattern will be released at the beginning of September, at which point I will share more pictures.

20130818-163752.jpg

Should I admit that I’ve already signed up for another test knit with Madeleine? My excuse is that it’s just far too difficult to resist such beautiful garments … but I suppose it would be closer to the truth to say that while I’m knitting I’m not thinking about things that I’d sooner not think about.

Despite my oft-heard vow that I am absolutely not buying any more yarn until I’ve made significant inroads into my existing stash, I found myself manically Googling to find the perfect yarn for this new project, and in a moment of weakness flexing my Paypal account to procure some fantastically beautiful Semi~Precious 4ply in a rich, deep purple shade (I’ll share a picture when it arrives). Semi~Precious is a 50% merino, 50% silk blend that knits up beautifully with superb stitch definition. I used a skein of it a few years ago to knit a shawl, and was incredibly impressed. I’ve also got two skeins of the DK version stashed upstairs, waiting for the perfect project.

And speaking of yarn, I acquired three skeins of Wollmeise DK while we were in Germany. Sean gave me a €40 gift voucher for Christmas a few years ago, so I bit the bullet and paid the extra €43 on top of that that it cost to get my hands on a cardi-worth of lusciousness. As it was cheaper to have it shipped to Eriskirch than to ship it to the UK, I thought it would be rude not to.

20130818-164949.jpg

Isn’t it gorgeous? This is Petersilie (Parsley), and I can’t wait to wear it. Though, let’s be honest, I doubt that’ll happen anytime soon!

About katiepopsmartin

I'm a busy 40-something, juggling many things at the same time, including a very rewarding and challenging job in the NHS, being the founding partner of a small company manufacturing business and craft rubber stamps, a hobbyist enjoying the challenge of working with yarn and paper (not usually at the same time, obviously), trying to get the house sorted out, studying for further qualifications and being a harrassed single Mum.

Leave a Reply

