I’m Sorry, I’ll Say That Again …

Standard

Do you ever get the feeling that you just spend far too much of your time knitting, thinking about knitting, or browsing the internet for knitterly goodness?  I’m sure it can’t be just me.

Earlier this week, after swatching the night before, dreaming about swatching all night and spending my journey to work mentally dissecting and reknitting my swatch, I found myself entering some data onto a spreadsheet for my manager, in relation to an exercise we’ve been doing whereby we’ve been doublechecking that patients who came to a preoperative assessment clinic did indeed get put on the waiting list and had their surgery.  I was updating the list I had with an outcome.  I got to the bottom of my list and scanned quickly upwards again to check that I’d entered something for each patient.

Oops …

Patient decreased?

I just knit a patient!

Unfortunately it was a patient who is no longer with us.  And yes, it could be considered slightly disrespectful, albeit totally unintentionally (and anyone who knows me personally will know that I have this whole huge thing going on about respecting other people), but it did make me giggle and it goes to show where my mind has been lately, doesn’t it!

Remember I mentioned a swatch that might be a scarf, or maybe a cowl but couldn’t make it’s mind up?  It decided it wanted to be a shawl, finally, in a totally different stitch pattern than it started off in.  My rather large swatch is currently relaxing on my blocking mat in my nice warm dining room, in preparation for a few photographs tomorrow.  Unfortunately I won’t be sharing it just yet, as I have decided to submit it to a popular knitting publication for consideration.  Well, you’ve got to speculate to accumulate, right?  I don’t for one minute have any expectation that it will be accepted for publication, but I’ll submit it anyway because I’ve always been one to aim high.

In the meantime, I’ve got an exciting test knit to crack on with for the lovely Madeleine at Yarn-Madness, and so I’m off to House of Fraser this weekend to see if they’ve got any aran weight bargains in their end of line box – I do have a particular yarn in mind that I know they had last time I was in there … but that was a good six weeks ago, so I’m hoping they’ve got some left still.  This test knit is going to be my ‘at home’ project.  I’m hopefully casting on another shawl design tomorrow that I swatched a couple of weeks ago, that I can have as my at work ‘go away, it’s my lunchbreak, can’t you see I’m knitting?’ project.  I was all set to go with the pattern I’d envisaged and swatched (and more or less written in its entirety), but in the last couple of weeks it’s hit me that there is an easier and potentially better way to get the look I’m after, so I’m just going to cast on and go for it (with my notebook at the ready to note down every detail as I knit it so that I can rewrite the pattern).  The beauty of this one is that it could potentially be knit in any weight yarn – though I think I’m going to stash bust and make a DK prototype, and then hopefully get it test knit in other weights.

Talking of test knits, I decided to have my Phyllis Shawlette test knit.  Yep, that’s right, after I’d released it.  What can I say … I’m contrary.  I’ve had three lovely Ravellers test knitting for me over the last couple of weeks, one of whom posted a picture earlier today – she knit hers in a beautiful variegated brown/rust/red colourway, and it looks fantastic.  When the others are finished and pictures posted I’ll be asking them for permission to link their projects here or post their photos.  I cannot tell you what a thrill it was today to see a photo of something someone made from a pattern that I wrote – I felt very designery, I can tell you.  I’ve also managed to find myself a tech editor, and the pattern for Phyllis will be going off to be tech edited next week.

I do love having a purpose in life, don’t you?!

About katiepopsmartin

I'm a busy 40-something, juggling many things at the same time, including a very rewarding and challenging job in the NHS, being the founding partner of a small company manufacturing business and craft rubber stamps, a hobbyist enjoying the challenge of working with yarn and paper (not usually at the same time, obviously), trying to get the house sorted out, studying for further qualifications and being a harrassed single Mum.

Leave a Reply

